State and Federal Primary Election Results

Missouri’s August Primary was yesterday (Tuesday) and over a million voters went to the polls.

Missourians turned out at the polls to decide the winners of some hard fought statewide races. Jason Kander claimed the Democratic nomination for US Senator with just shy of 70-percent of the vote, Cori Bush received 13-precent and Chief Wana Dubie and Robert Mack received less then 10-precent each. Incumbent Roy Blunt was favored by Republicans with just under 73-percent, Kristi Nichols received 20-percent and Bernie Mowinski and Ryan Luethy received the remainder. About 4-thousand Missourians voted for minor party candidates at yesterday’s primary.

The Republican gubernatorial race was close, Navy Seal Eric Greitens received just under 35-percent of the vote to receive his party’s nomination. John Brunner took 25-percent, and Peter Kinder and Catherine Hanaway each took about 20%. Missouri’s Democrats were much more decisive with a clear preference for Chris Koster with just over 78-percent of the vote. Charles Wheeler, Eric Morrison and Leonard Joseph Steinman II all received less then 10-precent each.

The Lieutenant Governor’s race was closer too with just shy of 52-percent of the Republican vote going to Mike Parson and just under 44-precent to Bev Randles. Arnie Dienoff received less then 5-percent. Democrat Russ Carnahan won his party’s nomination with 76-percent of the vote while his two challengers each received about 12-percent each.

The Secretary of State race was one not as close as the other statewide office races in the primary. Democrat Robin Smith beat her two opponents with 77-percent of the vote to Bill Clinton Young’s 16-percent and Rabbi Alam’s 7-percent. Republican John Jay Ashcroft was his party’s favorite with 61-percent to Will Kraus’s 35 percent and Roi Chinn’s 4-percent.

Judy Baker was nominated by the Democratic party for State Treasurer after receiving 59-percent of her party’s vote to Pat Contreras’ 41-precent. Republican Eric Schmitt was uncontested.

Democrat candidate Teresa Hensley received just under 53-percent of the vote for her nomination to run for Attorney General again Jake Zimmerman who received 47-percent. Republicans nominated Josh Hawley with 64-percent over Kurt Schaefer at 36-percent.

Incumbent US Representative Jason Smith was nominated to run for his 8th District seat again on the Republican ticket with 65-percent of the vote again Hal Brown, 15-percent, Todd Mahn 12-percent and Phillip Smith 5-percent. Democrat Dave Cowell was uncontested.
Looking now at regional state level races, incumbent 33rd District State Senator Mike Cunningham ran unopposed for the nomination and with no Democratic challenger to keep his seat.

Six-thousand-nine-hundred-thirty-one voters in Webster and Wright Counties went to the polls to narrowly pick Mountain Grove’s Hannah Kelly for the Republican nomination for the 141st District State Senator Seat over Mansfield’s Stan Coday. That race was very close with only a 45 vote spread between the two.

In Texas and Howell Counties, voters didn’t much choice as both tickets contained uncontested candidates for nominations for the 142nd District State House seat. Bobby Johnston, Jr. and Robert Ross will face each other in November. The other half of Howell County in District 154 also had an uncontested race with no Democratic challenger against Republican Shawn Rhoads.

Douglas county voters overwhelming voted for Lyle Rowland over Mike Lind for the 155th District State Representative seat 76 to 24-percent.


About KELE News

News Director at KELE The Grove

Posted on August 3, 2016, in News. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on State and Federal Primary Election Results.

Comments are closed.