Obama Approves Major Disaster Declaration for 33 Missouri Counties

President Barack Obama has approved a major disaster declaration for 33 Missouri counties, including Wright County, that were damaged by severe weather and flooding in late December and early January. Governor Jay Nixon asked the president for the declaration January 15th. The declaration makes assistance programs available to eligible residents for such things as temporary housing and repairs or losses caused by the flooding. Residents are encouraged to document any losses caused by the storms. The unusual late-year flooding left 16 people dead and significantly damaged nearly one thousand homes.


About KELE News

News Director at KELE The Grove

Posted on January 22, 2016, in News. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Obama Approves Major Disaster Declaration for 33 Missouri Counties.

Comments are closed.